Select Page

Congratulations to Andrea Austad, Todd Brothers and Janice Broten for this great achievement!  Ms. Austad, Mr. Brothers, and Ms. Broten join La Center School District’s roster of National Board Certified staff including Jennifer Blechschmidt, Kathy Bounds, Lynn Cooke, Laurie Cripe, Denelle Eiesland, Karen Gozart, Karla Karukes, and Kristina Podelnyk.

The National Board for Professional Teaching Standards was formed in 1987 to advance the quality of teaching and learning by developing professional standards for accomplished teaching.  National Board Certified teachers are educational leaders who utilize their expertise to improve educational policies and practices at the local, state and national levels and are among the nation’s leaders in math and science. Since 2008, more than 30 percent of all winners of the Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching are NBCTs.